Home

Forbes - Energy . . . 

The Seven Best Quotes From Warren Buffett's Annual Shareholder Letter  
Warren Buffett's annual letter to shareholders came with new thoughts index funds, stock buybacks and optimism about the long-term prospects of America.
Antoine Gara, Forbes Staff http://www.forbes.com/sites/antoinegara/
Sat, 25 Feb 2017 12:30:00 -0500

Warren Buffett: The Early Years  

Antoine Gara, Forbes Staff http://www.forbes.com/sites/antoinegara/
Sat, 25 Feb 2017 12:30:00 -0500

The Case Of The Missing Reserves  
Some oil majors have recently been writing down reserves. What does this mean for investors?
Robert Rapier, Contributor http://www.forbes.com/sites/rrapier/
Sat, 25 Feb 2017 10:41:00 -0500

U.S. Set To Rival Russia In Oil And Natural Gas Exports  
The U.S. is becoming an oil and gas exporting powerhouse, helping to alleviate energy deprivation around the world and lower Russia's gaining influence.
Jude Clemente, Contributor http://www.forbes.com/sites/judeclemente/
Sat, 25 Feb 2017 08:26:00 -0500

John HancockVoice: How Mining, Oil And Gas Workers Are Retraining For The Solar Economy  

Jude Clemente, Contributor http://www.forbes.com/sites/judeclemente/
Sat, 25 Feb 2017 08:26:00 -0500

ExxonMobil Wins An Anti-SLAPP Motion In Texas, While Landry's Loses  
The oil giant uses a law designed to protect citizen protesters to go after an employee who sued it for slander.
Daniel Fisher, Forbes Staff http://www.forbes.com/sites/danielfisher/
Fri, 24 Feb 2017 15:03:00 -0500

WATCH: This Cartoon Elon Musk Explains Why Solar Will Trump Oil  
The entrepreneur's views on the future of energy may leave petroleum fans especially animated.
Janet Burns, Women@Forbes http://www.forbes.com/sites/janetwburns/people/janetwburns/
Fri, 24 Feb 2017 10:59:00 -0500

Corporate Tax Reform: What The Power Industry Needs To Know  
US corporate tax reform has been a key plank in the Republican platform for several years and has recently become a key focus of the Trump administration. In June 2016, the House Ways and Means Committee Republicans led an effort to unveil a blueprint toward a “Better Way for Tax Reform.”
Navigant Research, Contributor http://www.forbes.com/sites/pikeresearch/people/richardmartin/
Thu, 23 Feb 2017 16:20:00 -0500

Clean Power Plan Repeal Would Cost America $600 Billion, Cause 120,000 Premature Deaths  
The Trump Administration has prioritized repealing the Clean Power Plan, but new analysis shows that repealing the rule would cost the U.S. hundreds of billions of dollars, add more than a billion tons of greenhouse gases to the atmosphere and cause more than 100,000 premature deaths.
Energy Innovation: Policy and Technology, Contributor http://www.forbes.com/sites/energyinnovation/
Thu, 23 Feb 2017 15:35:00 -0500

U.S. Natural Gas Market Bulls And Bears Caged 'Indefinitely'  
The new reality is one where the battle between sources of supply and demand are so evenly matched that major imbalances naturally adjust before prices can spike or crater to the degrees we’ve seen in the past. Gone are the days of annual average benchmark prices north of $8.00 per MMBtu.
Jared Anderson, Contributor http://www.forbes.com/sites/jaredanderson/
Thu, 23 Feb 2017 07:00:00 -0500

Fracking Is Dangerous To Your Health -- Here's Why  
Fracking is likely the cause of a wide range of health problems. Dismantling the EPA will greatly increase our health, water safety, and environmental risks, but governmental denial means we may never know the consequences.
Judy Stone, Contributor http://www.forbes.com/sites/judystone/
Thu, 23 Feb 2017 06:30:00 -0500

The Natural Gas Outlook For 2017  
During this warm winter, natural gas prices have tanked. But, key demand markets are laying the foundation for higher prices, eventually. The U.S., for instance, is now exporting LNG to 20 countries.
Jude Clemente, Contributor http://www.forbes.com/sites/judeclemente/
Wed, 22 Feb 2017 19:03:00 -0500

World's Biggest 25 Oil & Gas Companies In 2016  

Jude Clemente, Contributor http://www.forbes.com/sites/judeclemente/
Wed, 22 Feb 2017 19:03:00 -0500

Tesla Plans Model 3 Electric Car Production From July -- And More Gigafactories  
Elon Musk's maverick company plans a big production push for its first mass-market car, but avoids issuing production and sales guidance. CFO Jason Wheeler departing in April, to be replaced by former CFO Deepak Ahuja
Alan Ohnsman, Forbes Staff http://www.forbes.com/sites/alanohnsman/
Wed, 22 Feb 2017 17:17:00 -0500

What Should Trump Do To Help The Power Industry? Four Industry Executives Weigh In  
President Trump's plans for the power industry are a bit of a mystery. Here are what four industry executives think his Administration should focus on over the next four years.
Brian H. Potts, Contributor http://www.forbes.com/sites/brianpotts/
Wed, 22 Feb 2017 13:14:00 -0500

Whiting Petroleum Seen As Good Buy Despite Higher Spending Expectations  
Even though it reported a narrower net loss and much higher cash flow per share than expected, the Denver oil and gas producer saw it shares hammered by news of boosting its capital expenditures this year by 36% while only expecting production to go up by 6%.
Claire Poole, Contributor http://www.forbes.com/sites/clairepoole/
Wed, 22 Feb 2017 12:56:00 -0500

Deadline To Vacate Looms At Dakota Access Protest Site  
As today's deadline for vacating the Oceti Sakowin protest camp looms, several important lessons can be taken away from the long saga by everyone involved. Chief among them is that much trouble can be avoided by simply following the rule of law.
David Blackmon, Contributor http://www.forbes.com/sites/davidblackmon/
Wed, 22 Feb 2017 10:01:00 -0500

Tesla Priced For Perfection Into Earnings Tonight  
Tesla Into Earnings Tonight
Jay Somaney, Contributor http://www.forbes.com/sites/jaysomaney/
Wed, 22 Feb 2017 08:28:00 -0500

Tesla Model S, X and 3 with possible competitors  

Jay Somaney, Contributor http://www.forbes.com/sites/jaysomaney/
Wed, 22 Feb 2017 08:28:00 -0500

Solar Jobs Aren't What They're Cracked Up To Be  
Solar advocates point to the number of jobs created by the industry, but it's actually a sign of labor inefficiency. It takes a lot more jobs to produce a given amount of solar energy than oil or natural gas do.
Michael Lynch, Contributor http://www.forbes.com/sites/michaellynch/
Wed, 22 Feb 2017 07:10:00 -0500

Anti-Nuke Dogma Trumps Common Sense On Nuclear Energy  
A new report from an anti-nuclear group gives some alternative spin to the same old dogma – shut down all nuclear plants and replace them with renewables. Unfortunately, its conclusions are wrong, especially about the cost savings and climate effects.
James Conca, Contributor http://www.forbes.com/sites/jamesconca/
Wed, 22 Feb 2017 06:00:00 -0500

Oil And The Golden Constant  
My model, which is based on the "golden constant," predicts a price for oil (WTI) of $70/bbl by the end of the year.
Steve Hanke, Contributor http://www.forbes.com/sites/stevehanke/
Tue, 21 Feb 2017 13:00:00 -0500

The World's Saddest (And Happiest) Countries  

Christopher Helman, Forbes Staff http://www.forbes.com/sites/christopherhelman/
Tue, 21 Feb 2017 09:14:00 -0500

If EPA Chief Pruitt Is Listening To Private Enterprise, He'll Think About Pricing Carbon  
The confirmation of Scott Pruitt to lead the EPA raises questions and concerns about whether he'll take any action to address climate change -- and whether Republican-led solutions to price carbon will get an audience on his watch.
Ken Silverstein, Contributor http://www.forbes.com/sites/kensilverstein/
Tue, 21 Feb 2017 08:06:00 -0500

Big Data Visionary Bates Sees 'Disruptive' Forces In Testing Arena, Made TestPlant CEO  
As Dr John Bates is appointed the new CEO of TestPlant, a leader in software test automation, the Big Data and IoT space pioneer envisages disruptive forces at work in the testing environment across a range of industries. And, in this article he explains his thinking on these aspects.
Roger Aitken, Contributor http://www.forbes.com/sites/rogeraitken/
Tue, 21 Feb 2017 04:18:00 -0500

Vietnam Is Getting Closer To Its Rival China Because Neither Side Trusts Trump  
Vietnam shows new sighs of edging closer to one-time rival China as it hasn't figured out what the United States will do in Asia's major maritime dispute.
Ralph Jennings, Contributor http://www.forbes.com/sites/ralphjennings/
Mon, 20 Feb 2017 22:00:00 -0500

Don't Expect Carbon Capture To Save Coal  
A carbon capture project near Houston has sparked a lot of excitement, but a closer look at the economics and competing technologies suggests it might not be the solution the coal industry wants.
University of Houston Energy Fellows, Contributor http://www.forbes.com/sites/uhenergy/people/uhenergy/
Mon, 20 Feb 2017 12:00:00 -0500